Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The next two weeks were a jumble of paperwork and attending orientation classes about the basics of higher German education.  We have a very large group of international students here, and we all quickly hit it off.

To compensate for the onslaught of academic responsibilities, we went hiking, attended obscure–but-interesting funk concerts, went to an Irish pub to watch German soccer (go Bayern!), hiked some more, attended an American-themed restaurant (but they wouldn’t serve pancakes for dinner), and partied tons.

And yet, despite all of this socializing, I felt lonely.  As much as I enjoyed hanging out with everyone, I’m just not into the whole night-life scene, and that seemed to be the only thing everyone else wanted to do.  I started to feel burnt out and exhausted, so I just stopped hanging out as much.  I also felt like I hadn’t found  people who understood me, and I had trouble befriending my fellow German classmates.

This post concludes my Time Travel series.  From now on, the posts will be less chronological and more theme-based (Badisch cuisine, interesting hiking trails, etc.)  You will also be able to read about how I have slowly found my footing and a balance between all the different facets of living in another country.  I will continue to write about culture shock and finding my niche here (don’t worry, this story has a happy ending).

I would also like to take a minute to welcome my parents to Germany!  They arrived safely yesterday afternoon.  It’s their 30th wedding anniversary this month, and since that’s a big year, they decided to celebrate by visiting me for a short time.  Their arrival also marks the halfway point in my stay in Germany.  That’s right, I’m already halfway done!  Thank you for following me this far, and I can’t wait to continue to share this journey with you.

